The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh review

BUY THIS BOOK WITH FREE WORLDWIDE SHIPPING: 

Paperback

Hardback

Let me just start off with telling you that The Wrath and The Dawn does live up to the hype! I had high expectations for this book and I was not disappointed!

Synopsis: 

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

Review:

So I just finished reading The Wrath and the Dawn a few minutes ago and wow, this book is astounding! There are so many concepts contained within this book that I adore, and seeing them all woven together in this intricate story was amazing.

First off, I have to talk about the characters, both so headstrong and powerful, Shazi and Khalid really jumped off the pages. I always love books with an immensely strong female character that knows what she wants and works hard for it. Shazi is the perfect depiction of this, she is largely outspoken, incredibly confident and a force to be reckoned with. She lets no one stand in her way of her goals and she is strong minded with an equally strong will. Khalid on the other hand really grew on me as the story progressed, as we are slowly shown the hidden personality behind his brutality and his facade of a fearsome king. The female friendship between Shazi and Despina was a fiery dynamic, that ultimately benefited them both which I loved.

Shari and Khalid together is a raging storm one minute and tranquility the next, then it’s all followed by heated romance. Shazi and Khalid has this constant push and pull with each other, particularly in the first half of the novel, when they are complete enemies. The constant banter and witty remarks between the two was utterly entertaining, and the angsty romance was completely swoon worthy! The enemies to lovers trope was executed extremely well, Renee made it believable and it didn’t feel forced in anyway.

I’m a sucker for palace settings, I admire the regality of it all. The exquisite descriptions Renee writes, transports you into the heart of the beautiful palace. Renee’s writing is is so detailed yet uncomplicated, it created this intricate world that you find yourself seamlessly falling into. At times, I even had tears in my eyes because the writing was so beautiful and the characters so heartwarming.

The numerous curses and hidden secrets contained within this book, really made it suspenseful and intriguing, pushing me to continue reading. This is also why the end portion of the book was my favourite, as one after another all the secrets were revealed. The cliff hanger ending definitely made me want to immediately pick up the next book!

Although the second half of the book was fantastic, I will say that the first few chapters were good but there was nothing special about them. I also found my mind drifting away during the perspectives outside the palace as they weren’t incredibly interesting. I think while reading these chapters I just wanted to get back to Shazi and Khalid! Similar to these chapters the “attempted love triangle” felt unnecessary, although it didn’t detract much from the overall story.

Quotes:

“No individual can reach the height of their potential without the love of others. We are not meant to be alone. The more a person pushes others away, the clearer it becomes that they are in need of love the most”

“”What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest.“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.””

“How does one begin to apologise for robbing the world of light? Words seem strangely insufficient in such a case, and yet I fall to their uselessness in my own inadequacy.”

“There was honesty in your hatred. Fearlessness in your pain. In your honesty, I saw a reflection of myself. Or rather, the man I longed to be.”

★★★★1/2

 

 

One thought on “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh review

Leave a Reply

