Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite SFF Cover Art

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. Topics are set for every week so to join in on the fun just check out the memes goodreads group. This week’s topic is top 5 favourite science fiction and fantasy cover art.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I absolutely LOVE the cover for Caraval, and not only is the cover amazing, the story inside is equally as fantastic! You can read my review for Caraval here.

I love the cover of Caraval because of the shimmery blue and red contrasted on the black background. It makes it look like a fun story with a hint of darkness and deception, which is exactly what the story is! I also adore the title font, it’s so whimsical and magical, reminding me of the circus, which is where this book is set.

And not only does the cover look spectacular on screen, in real life it is exploding with shimmer and sparkles, it immediately catches your eye!

 

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Rebel of the sands is another fantastic cover that I love, I also enjoyed the story, you can read my review of it here.

Firstly, the colour scheme of this book is just WOW! the blue tones mixed with gold, which is my absolute favourite colour is just amazing! And in real life the cover is shiny and reflective, which always draws me to a book.

The small details of the girl on the horse and the palace in the bottom add a nice touch. And lastly the twinkling of stars illuminating the background is the completing touch to this spectacular cover

 

Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

Another spectacular cover, except this time I have yet to read the book. A Crown of Wishes is the second book in the Star Touched Queen duology.

The first thing that draws my attention to this book is the medley of beautiful colours. The deep rich purple reflected against the loveliest shade of green creates a magical picture. And again with the gold lettering and gold border, anything gold I will love!

Of course you can’t miss the fierce girl riding on a horse, the skirts of her dress billowing behind her, it’s a breath taking picture. And when I thought it couldn’t get any better I saw this book in real life I saw how it shines like there’s no tomorrow, it is absolutely beautiful!

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

This book isn’t shiny but it is equally as beautiful. I have yet to read this one, but i’ve heard amazing things about it!

I love the purple and blue tones of the galaxy in the background in this one as the colours really draw my attention. Then the beautiful eclipse with the stars of light peaking out from behind is beautiful. Lastly I love the clean cut font that goes along with this one, the background is already so eye-catching and I find the font of the title isn’t too complicated to override the beautiful background. The gorgeous cover gives me space opera vibes.

 

 

And I darken by Keirsten White

Another cover with purple and black on the cover, I just love those two colours together! Again I haven’t read this book yet but it’s on my TBR!

I’m a sucker for flowers and this photo of the purple flower with the floating petals is utterly entrancing. The flower looks so soft, delicate and beautiful than it is contrasted with a sword stabbing through the middle of it, I love it! The juxtaposition between the two creates an incredible image of power and beauty. And the contrast of this image against a black background really defines the cover art. Lastly, the strong font of the title makes me believe that this is going to be a strong solid story.

 

 

What are some of your favourite fantasy and science fiction book covers? Are there any included in my list that catch your eye? Let me know!

The Friday 56 (3)

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite SFF Cover Art

Leave a Reply

