This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Book #2 in the Starbound Trilogy
Published by Allen & Unwin on November 19 2014
Genres: Science fiction, young adult, romance, fantasy
Pages: 394
Goodreads

The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a bloody war.

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

The stunning second novel in the Starbound trilogy is an unforgettable story of love and forgiveness in a world torn apart by war.

REVIEW

This Shattered World is an epic sci-fi adventure that mostly takes place on a planet called Avon, despite what the cover suggests. but unfortunately it didn’t capture my attention as much as it’s companion book These Broken Stars.

The first half of this book wasn’t as compelling as the latter half and I felt like I wasn’t fully connecting with the two characters Jubilee and Flynn. This book is told is dual perspectives, Jubilee was an intensely strong defiant character, and I loved how she was a fierce leader. Flynn was an equally as tough character but underneath we are exposed to his compassionate side. I have to say I wasn’t as invested in Jubilee and Flynn’s romance as Tarver and Lilac’s. I found the book really picked up when Tarver and Lilac are introduced into this book and it was heartwarming seeing their relationship together.

I found the writing to be favourable, but I felt this book lacked in the plot. There was more than a fair amount going on to capture ones attention, but I was mostly uninterested. I felt disconnected throughout reading this book and I wasn’t fully immersed in the world. I could sense a barrier of sorts, separating me from the story in hand. As with the previous book, I wasn’t a huge fan of the non-corporeal spirits and I found it to be bizarre and not to my taste.

Overall, This Shattered World definitely wasn’t my cup of tea. I can easily say I enjoyed the first book These Broken Stars a lot more, but I won’t be continuing on with the series.

★★

Have you read The Starbound trilogy or any other books from Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner? Let me know!

The Friday 56 (3)

 

8 thoughts on “This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. Pingback: May 2017 Wrap Up
  2. breenysbooks says:

    Amie Kaufman is one of the authors of the Iluminae Files (series), and if you haven’t checked that out I highly recommend it. The third book comes out in October, so you can definitely read the first two before then. Great review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • readwithkatie says:

      I’ve actually read Illuminae, it was alright but I didn’t continue on with the series!

      Thank you! I’m also fairly new to blogging and have only been doing it for 3 months. My number 1 tip is to get involved with the community. Always reply to comments and comment on other people’s blogs. Also try posting regularly and if you can set up a blogging schedule, I find that really helps.

      I just checked out your blog and I already love it! You just gained another follower 🙂 I hope you enjoy A Court of Thorns and Roses, it’s may all time favourite series!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

