Landline by Rainbow Rowell review

Landline by Rainbow Rowell
Published by Orion on July 31 2014
Genres: fiction, romance, contemporary, adult, women’s fiction, chick lit
Pages: 310
Goodreads

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

REVIEW

note: I just realised that this book was published on my birthday, July 31st! Yes I’m born on the same day as Harry Potter.

Landline is a quirky read, combining components of both young adult and adult literature to create an entertaining story while integrating the element of a failing marriage.

The story surrounds Georgie and Neal, a married couple with two children who are struggling to uphold their marriage. The central character, Georgie, isn’t particularly thrilled with her current situation, and she finds herself dependent on her husband, more often than not. Their marriage is falling through the seams and Neal is the glue holding it together and when he leaves to Omaha with their two daughters, Georgie’s life becomes a tragedy. Lacking Neal’s support, Georgie is a complete and utter mess, her life is in shambles. It was disheartening, to say the least, observing Georgie fall further into insanity. Georgie was a character I found hard at times to relate to, and she definitely wasn’t my favourite character. Neal on the other hand was a lot more likeable, especially Neal from the past, past Georgie was a lot better too, but no one could beat 1998 Neal. Neal from the past was absolutely adorable, his love for Georgie was finite and the beginning of their relationship was so precious. I also enjoyed Seth as a character, he was Georgie’s constant, her support system, and he was really funny which I loved.

Landline is like an amalgamation of a young adult and adult novel. The book is an adult novel in a sense that it follows Georgie and her quest to mend her failing marriage, but there are a plethora of flashbacks and we get to see Georgie as she talks on the phone to 1998 Neal, which feels very young adult. I found it somewhat difficult to relate to the marriage aspects of the novel, which is where this book lost a star for me. I think older readers may be able to relate to the book more, and appreciate it more than I did. For me personally, the young adult sections of the book is where the story really shined. The adorableness of the beginning of Georgie and Neal’s relationship was like any other Rainbow Rowell cutesy romance, and I just couldn’t stop beaming at their love for each other.

Like all of Rainbow’s books, the writing was fantastic and humorous, it made the story fly by in an instant. Landline also contained some diversity with a gay Indian character and a lesbian character.

Overall, Landline was an entertaining read, I just couldn’t relate to some aspects of the novel. I would recommend this book to older readers, I think people who are married might appreciate this book more than I did. Although this wasn’t my favourite Rainbow Rowell book I still enjoyed it and I can’t wait to read the last book of hers which I have yet to pick up, Carry On! If you’re interested in reading some of rainbow Rowell’s books I would highly recommend Fangirl and Eleanor and Park.

★★★

Have you read Landline or any other books by Rainbow Rowell? What are your thoughts?

The Friday 56 (3)

 

 

5 thoughts on “Landline by Rainbow Rowell review

  1. Celeste says:

    I felt the same way as you did while reading Landline, I just couldn’t connect enough with the characters or the story, and the same happened when I read Attachments. I seem to only really like Rainbow Rowell’s YA books 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: June Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

