Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen review

6350193Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
Published by Puffin Books on April 2 2009
Genres: Young adult, romance, comtemporary
Pages: 422
Goodreads

“Ruby, where is your mother?” Ruby knows that the game is up. For the past few months, she’s been on her own in the yellow house, managing somehow, knowing that her mother will probably never return.That’s how she comes to live with Cora, the sister she
hasn’t seen in ten years, and Cora’s husband Jamie, whose down-to-earth demeanor makes it hard for Ruby to believe he founded the most popular networking Web site around. A luxurious house, fancy private school, a new wardrobe, the promise of college and a future—it’s a dream come true. So why is Ruby such a reluctant Cinderella, wary and defensive? And why is Nate, the genial boy next door with some secrets of his own, unable to accept the help that Ruby is just learning to give?

REVIEW

Lock and Key is one of the better Sarah Dessen books that I have read so far, but despite this I still didn’t enjoy it as much as I hoped I would.

One of the major issues I have with Sarah Dessen is the plot, or lack there of. I understand that her books are contemporary and her books don’t necessarily have to be heavy on the plot line, but with all her books I found myself reading about characters going through he motions of their everyday life. Trust me, sometimes this can work if some more exciting content is introduced, but there just wasn’t enough excitement going on for me to be captivated by the story. There were a couple of moments when I thought the story was compelling, but it would just drop out in the next chapter. However, I will say that there were some heartfelt passages within the book that I felt drawn to. There were numerous important themes discussed including family, relationships and abuse. The exploration of these topics brought some weight to the novel which I appreciated.

The characters were fine, I didn’t necessarily feel attached to anyone in particular. Although I must say I enjoyed Jamie as a character, he was supportive and consistently had a positive outlook on life. He tried his hardest to make sure Ruby and Cora felt as if they fit in.

Overall, Lock and Key was an alright story with some heartfelt stories. So far I have read four Sarah Dessen books, but I haven’t had much luck with any of them except Saint Anything, due to this I’m sad to say that I don’t think I will be reading any more Sarah Dessen books.

The Friday 56 (3)

One thought on “Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen review

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

